Battle of the Gifted: Hazard, Ibrahimovic, Kane, Others Shortlisted for 2017 PFA Player of the Year Award

The Premier League’s Professional Footballers’ Association, PFA, has made public the various nominees in the run for all its categories of awards for the 2016/2017 season.

The 6-man shortlisted players
N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard’s efforts in Chelsea’s Premier League title tilt have been recognised with nominations for the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award.
Kante, who was shortlisted last year for his part in Leicester’s remarkable season but did not make the top three, is the bookmakers’ favourite for the 2016-17 accolade, with Alexis Sanchez, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Romelu Lukaku and Harry Kane also on the six-man shortlist.
While Tottenham’s Kane does feature, there is no place on the shortlist for team-mate Dele Alli, despite the young England international’s stunning season, although he does lead the nominations for the Young Player of the Year prize.
Another player who may feel unfortunate to miss out is Sunderland striker Jermain Defoe who, despite now being 34, has struck 14 times for a Black Cats side who would be completely dead and buried were it not for his efforts. He has scored nearly 60 per cent of their goals this season.
For the Young Player Category, Kane is also nominated along his Spurs’ teammate who is of Nigerian descent, Dele Alli.
Lukaku, Leroy Sane and Jordan Pickford are the others in the run for the PFA Young Players Award.
The winners, voted for by PFA members, will be announced on April 23.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *